Blacklisting and Remove Plugins

In an effort to try and make some of the lesser known features of Glimpse some air time, we thought we would put together a few short posts on how to perform a coupe of tasks that might get you some quick wins.

First in the list is Blacklisting/Remove Plugins. Out of the box Glimpse provides several plugins. Depending on what version of Glimpse you go for (Glimpse
or Glimpse.MVC3) you will have a variety of tabs that serve different purposes.

We are still refining the list of what is useful and what people want to see, but if there is something you don’t want, removing it is quite straight forward. In this case you would simply add a “pluginBlacklist” element to your glimpse config and using the fully qualified name of the plugin, add items to the blacklist:

<glimpse>
      <pluginBlacklist>
            <add plugin="Glimpse.Mvc3.Plugin.MetaData" />
            <add plugin="Glimpse.Mvc3.Plugin.Binders" />
            <add plugin="Foo.Bar.GlimpsePlugins.CurrentUser" />
      </pluginBlacklist>
</glimpse>

*It should be noted that if you wanted to blacklist 3rd party plugins, this is more than possible using the same method, as demonstrated with the Foo.Bar.GlimpsePlugins.CurrentUser line above.

Other cases where you might want to blacklist plugins, is for different environments. Lets say, if in development you want all tabs, but in UAT, you want half of them removed and in PROD you only want tracing, Glimpse can support this. You could have several reasons to do this like reducing payload size, or for security concerns. All you would need to do is blacklist the plugins you don’t need in the config file for each environment.

If should be noted that, if you blacklist a plugin, not only do we not show that tab, but the plugin never gets wired into the life-cycle of the page. Blacklisted plugins add absolutely no overhead and are never instantiated.

Hope that helps and let us know what you think and if we can do anything more in this area.

2 thoughts on “Blacklisting and Remove Plugins

  1. tony giardino

    I was looking at your documentation. Is there a way to have glimpse be enabled on a client that starts a session but not allow them to actually be able to pull up the console to see the data? The use case im trying to set up is that a person on our support team could send a link to a user and clicking that would create the right cookies and set a session but not have the console show up for them, while still allowing our support team to use the console to see their remote info. Is this even currently possible?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *